Farm Fresh Family

Learning life's lessons on an organic farm in the mountains.

Vinyl Storage

Colorful Record Shelf Makeover

Leave a comment

Vinyl Storage

Rob was so excited to move into our new (bigger) house, because he finally has room to store all of his vinyl! At our tiny old house, he had to keep all of his records in the garage. Definitely not ideal. The shelf that he uses to store all of his records was pretty beat up, so he gave it to me to pretty up this weekend!

The weather was absolutely gorgeous, so I was able to hang out on the front porch and work on it all afternoon.

As you can see, it was pretty dingy and banged up.

Weekend 021 Weekend 022
I enlisted Clare’s help to wipe the thing clean first. You can tell by her face how thrilled she was about that…
Colorful Record Shelf Makeover
While I was working on this, the boys were doing so major furniture re-arranging in the house. Goodbye terrible old pool table!
Weekend 033
We had some paint left over from Clare’s room makeover, so I gave the shelves a fresh new coat of white paint. Then I painted the edges bright shades of blue and green.
Weekend 027 Vinyl Storage
Clare and I waited for the paint to dry…
Weekend 020
Then the fun part! I cut up a bunch of squares of colorful scrapbook paper and Mod Podged them all over the top and sides of the shelf.
Vinyl Storage
Vinyl Storage
The shelf is now happily stocked up with vinyl and sitting in our kitchen. I had a blast jamming out to Bob Dylan’s “Blonde on Blonde” while I made enchiladas tonight!

Author: Farm Fresh Mama

I am the proud mama of a beautiful, hilarious little girl and the proud partner of a kind, smart man. The three of us have decided to make a major lifestyle change and move from Fort Collins, CO to an organic farm in southwest Colorado. We hope that by being surrounded by nature's beauty and working with our hands, we will be reminded daily that the simplest things in life are the most important. I learn big and small lessons every day, and I want to share what I've learned with other families.

Leave a Reply

